Skip to main content

Friday 1 April 1949 – Blackminster becomes a ward of Badsey parish

Category Transfer of Blackminster from Offenham to Badsey
Evesham Standard & West Midland Observer
Transcription of article


A sealed order issued by Worcestershire County Council, whereby the parish of Badsey has been divided into three wards, increasing the parish representation from nine to 11 councillors, was submitted at a meeting of Badsey Parish Council on Monday, over which Mr C A Binyon, JP, presided.

The new wards will be known as Blackminster (one representative), Badsey (nine) and Bowers Hill (one).  The Clerk (Mr D A Jelfs) said that the deputy clerk of the County Council had expressed his satisfaction with the proposed ward boundaries.

The chairman congratulated the County Council upon their prompt action in passing the order in time for the coming elections.

The meeting also received a copy of the County of Worcester (parishes of Offenham and Badsey) Confirmation Order, 1949, issued by the Ministry of Health, whereby part of Blackminster will be transferred from Offenham to Badsey as from April 1 next.

The ecclesiastical divisions of any parish will be unaffected by the order.

Mr Binyon announced that both Mr J E Knight and himself would not seek re-election on the Evesham RDC.