Skip to main content

July 19th 1900 - Letter from Julius Sladden to his wife, Eugénie Sladden

19th July 1900
Correspondence From
Julius Sladden, Seward House, Badsey
Correspondence To
Eugénie Sladden, c/o F D Robinson Esq, Marshgate House, Richmond
Relationship to Letter Addressee
Text of Letter


July 19/00

My dearest Wife,

I was glad to get your post card this morning.  I hope you will not be quite baked to-morrow in taking Cyril to Draper’s Hall, of course we shall be much interested to hear how he got on, how many candidates there were &c.

I got my serge suit this morning which does nicely so I wore it on my Pandy journey and found it cooler than my other suits, of course it was hot travelling but I did not find it oppressive and got back to our station at 7.20.  

Baby is very jolly and good, she looks such a sweet little thing all among the roses in one of Mr Bamber’s photos, indeed she appears in 3 out of 4 of them.  

I heard from Fred this morning and enclose his letters, as you will see he cannot do what I wish, although he is good enough to find £10 I don’t suppose Polly could buy those shares if she cared to do so, you might just ask her, if you see Fanny you might ask her if any of the young people over age have money to invest, young Charlie is going to be married or of course he would have, we must raise some money and that soon and really these shares are a good investment enough.

The poor roses do feel the heat although they look very lovely still, I am glad Polly liked those I sent.  We shall have to pick French beans in a day or two.  I have written to Kathleen and sent her the rail money.

Love to you, dear, and to Cyril also to friends at Marshgate House.

Your affectionate Husband

Julius Sladden

Friday morning.

Very pleased to get your letter this morning, it is kind of Anna to look after Cyril’s amusement, if they go to Crystal Palace tell her he would like to see the amphibian animals by the lake.  I enclose letters from Jack and Miss Pollard just received.

Babs was delighted with Cyril’s letters she is quite good and happy. 

Letter Images
Type of Correspondence
Envelope containing 1 double sheet of notepaper
Location of Document
Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service
Record Office Reference