Skip to main content

July 22nd 1900 - Letter from Julius Sladden to his wife, Eugénie Sladden

22nd July 1900
Correspondence From
Julius Sladden, Seward House, Badsey
Correspondence To
Eugénie Sladden, c/o F D Robinson Esq, Marshgate House, Richmond
Relationship to Letter Addressee
Text of Letter


July 22/00

My dearest Wife,

Having written to George and also a long letter to Grannie I must send you a few lines before I go to bed as I shall be starting quite early in the morning for Newport, so as to get back at night.  We were glad to hear from your letter to May about Cyril’s exam and I hope he may be successful, we must not be too sanguine.  It is very kind of Anna to take him about so much and of course, it is a great delight to him.

If we get Arthur’s letter in the morning before I start I will enclose it in this, I also forward a letter from Charlotte received this morning.  We are getting along well in your absence but shall be very glad to get you home again dear, the house is so quiet especially when Baby is asleep.  Did you write to George last week, I have sent his journey money also some for the girls.

I hope Jack has been to see you to-day May will write to him from home shortly, she will have her hands full to-morrow, as peas, French beans and raspberries have all to be picked, we have sent some peas to market and the beans must go too.  I have ordered a truck of coals and we must be “werry careful” with that same, 21/- per ton as against 16/- last year and less the year before.

The weather is still hot but on the whole I enjoy it.  Baby is very jolly, George and Cyril are to be driven from seeing the clocks wound up next Sunday but Arthur is to be a spectator as he is a big boy!  The roses are distinctly going past but there are many nice blooms yet.  I should think you ought to reach Evesham on Wednesday from 11.30 to 12 o’clock, I must look out for you, call at the office if I am not at the station.

With much love to you darling, also to Cyril and Richmond friends.

I am your affectionate Husband

Julius Sladden

Tell Polly how much we enjoyed Tennyson’s life.

Letter Images
Type of Correspondence
Envelope containing 1 double sheet of notepaper
Location of Document
Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service
Record Office Reference