How did the road get its name?
Green Leys is so-called because of its proximity to areas of land called The Green and The Leys.
When did housing development begin?
Green Leys was the second phase of Council development in the post Second World War period. The land, which had been owned by the Wheatley family since 1932, was sold by Lucy Kate Wheatley on 30th March 1954 as a compulsory purchase to Evesham Rural District Council for £665. The ancient ridge and furrows and gnarled fruit trees disappeared to be replaced by a housing estate. Fifty houses and flats (11 pairs of semi-detached houses, eight flats and 20 terraced houses comprising two sets of four and two sets of six) were built on the plot and the occupants began moving in between July 1955 and August 1956. By the summer of 1956, with all the houses occupied, there was the sum total of two cars on the site – now most houses have a car.
Further information about the road may be found in the chapter called "Council Housing in Badsey & Aldington" by Will Dallimore, in Aldington and Badsey: Villages in the Vale - A Tapestry of Local History.
The houses were numbered 1-50, but with a 12A instead of 13. The first houses to be let out were the ones by the stream. The numbers go in a clockwise direction around the outer circle north of the stream, then go around the inner circle, then finishing on the outer circle south of the stream.
19th and early 20th century auctions and ownership
Whilst most of the land on which Green Leys is situated has always belonged to Badsey, a small section at the western end is built on land which used to belong to Aldington until 1921.