Skip to main content

October 31st 1894 - Letter from Eugénie Sladden to her husband, Julius Sladden

31st October 1894
Correspondence From
Eugénie Sladden, Gloucester House, Surbiton
Correspondence To
Julius Sladden, c/o J Hayward Esq, Ashbourne, 26 Radnor Park Road, Folkestone
Relationship to Letter Addressee
Text of Letter

Gloucester House

31st October 1894

My dearest Julius,

I was very pleased to receive your budget of letters last night, kiss dear little Cyril for me & thank him for his letter, poor little chap, I am afraid he is rather dull.  I have been looking out the trains in Bradshaw & find I can get to Reading from Surbiton station in time to catch the train which gets to Badsey at 5.20.  We had a miserably wet day yesterday, it rained all day, I hope it was not so bad at Evesham or you will have had a wretched journey to Great Alne.  

Fanny & I only drove out for a little while in the afternoon, it was not sufficiently inviting to stop out long.  This afternoon Fanny has to take May up to the dentist in London, so I am going up with them & shall see what I can get at Maple’s for the dining-room carpet.  Tomorrow we dine at the Thurgoods & on Friday Charlie has taken tickets to go & see “Money” so you see we are gay here as usual; I wish you were coming with us to the theatre dear, as I know you would enjoy it.  Evey went to Croydon yesterday to play at some entertainment there & stayed the night.  I got Charlie to play the clarinet to me in the evening, he plays it so nicely now & it is such a pretty instrument; I think I must try & get him to come down & play for us when we have the Literary, it would be quite a novelty.  

I suppose you will be going to the Wildings tonight & hope it will go off well.  I had a letter from Jack yesterday, he seems pleased at your allowing him to join the cadet corps & likes the carpenter’s shop.  I must write a few lines to the boys, so with much love dear

Believe me
Your loving wife

Eugénie N Sladden

P.S. If I do not write again, you may expect me at 5.20 on Saturday.

Letter Images
Type of Correspondence
Envelope containing 1 double sheet of notepaper
Location of Document
Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service
Record Office Reference