Skip to main content

February 20th 1913 - Letter from Eugénie Sladden to her daughter, Juliet Sladden

20th February 1913
Correspondence From
Eugénie Sladden, Belgrave Hotel, Torquay
Correspondence To
Juliet Sladden, The Grove School, Highgate
Relationship to Letter Addressee
Text of Letter

Belgrave Hotel

20th February 1913

My dear Juliet,

I expect you were very surprised to hear I was at Torquay again, I am sure I was very surprised to come as I had no idea of it till the day before I started.

We had a few quite nice days when we first got here, but the last four days have been very cold & dull, a bitter NE wind & no sunshine. It is unfortunate as Mary Williams arrived on Monday evening to stay a few days with us, & it has not been very pleasant for her & Arthur to get about.  We are all leaving tomorrow, Arthur is better & goes up to town as he is anxious to get to work again, I go home & Mary goes to Exmouth to stay with the Dysons.  

I have been doing quite a fair lot of walking since we have been here, at first I found the hills rather hard, but Arthur says I manage them a good deal better now.  Monday morning I walked out to Daddy hole plain with him, quite a good distance & yesterday we all walked to Cockington Church, about a mile & a half away, but we trammed part of the way there.  We have been twice to the afternoon Concert at the Pavilion, a very good Orchestra, this afternoon they gave us things by Tchaikovsky almost entirely, some of them very fine.  

Poor old Boo seems to have been quite on the sick list, he must have been pleased to have you to cheer him up on Sunday, I hope his cold is better now, he will have to be careful.

There is no one very exciting staying here just now, a good many invalids, & nearly every one seems to have bad colds, two rather nice lady-like girls left yesterday.  I heard from home this morning, they have had several more Donations to the Recreation Ground Fund.

With much love dear, hoping you are keeping free of cold

I am,
Your loving mother

Eugénie N Sladden 

Letter Images
Type of Correspondence
Envelope containing 2 sheets of notepaper
Location of Document
Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service
Record Office Reference