Skip to main content

December 21st 1870 - Letter from Fred Mourilyan to his sister, Eugénie Mourilyan

21st December 1870
Correspondence From
Fred Mourilyan, Banque de Roumanie, Bucharest
Correspondence To
Eugénie Mourilyan
Relationship to Letter Addressee
Text of Letter

Banque de Roumanie

21 Dec 1870

My dear Biche,

As I am writing to Father and hear you are possibly with him, I will send you a short reply to yr letter of the 4th Oct., but as I have some buttons to sow on & one or two things to look after, it won’t be a very long one.  I am very sorry to hear of Mrs. Allen’s troubles.  I hope she will manage to set up again somewhere and I am also sorry for yr disappointment in not being able now to pass yr examinations, but there is no help for it. 

It is blowing so hard tonight, I expect tomorrow to find the streets almost impassable with snow. 

By the by it was yr birthday on the 2nd, many happy returns of it.  I suppose I shall hardly know you when I come back, I was thinking of having my photograph taken and sending one home, but I always have so much to spend one way or another that I can never afford it.  I heard from Aunt Marianne a few days ago.  She said she should try and keep you with her, so I don’t know if you are in London or not. If in the country give my love to Aunt’s son.  I will write soon, also my love to Grandmother

There is not much news to tell you here.  I went last evg to help the clergyman’s little girls with their […] & I am hoping to get a skate in a few days; when I am a swell out here you must come and stay with Florence and me.  And then you will see all the curious things of this wild country.  I suppose someone will send me an account of Polly’s wedding.  The post is very irregular in this weather, so I may not hear for some days.

Goodnight, love to all

Yr Affte Brother

Fred J. Mourilyan

Letter Images
We are grateful to Chris Higman, great-grandson of Frederick Mourilyan, for providing a transcription of this letter following a visit to the Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service.
Type of Correspondence
1 sheet of notepaper - received June 16th 1871 written on letter.
Location of Document
Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service
Record Office Reference