Skip to main content

June 10th 1908 - Letter from Julius Sladden to his wife, Eugénie Sladden

10th June 1908
Correspondence From
Julius Sladden, Seward House, Badsey
Correspondence To
Eugénie Sladden, at Shelley Lodge, Radnor Park, Folkestone
Relationship to Letter Addressee
Text of Letter

Seward House

June 10/08

My dearest Wife,

I was glad to have your post card yesterday and your letter this afternoon, I hope the headache soon passed off completely, probably it was the result of your long journey.

Frank is much better to-day having had good sleep last night, it really seems as if the long drives have  a good effect, Edith and Norah were a little nervous last night about his having another attack so we were all relieved to find him much brighter to-day after his good rest, Jack enjoyed the drive with them yesterday and they talk of taking another this week, they will leave for Deal next Wednesday and Norah will go too now that Charlotte has invited her to go to Switzerland.

Juliet is sending you a long diary, she is quite happy but rather misses Mother when she goes to bed.

I am sending on the withdrawal notice which only arrived this morning.

Jack went off by the 6.57 train this morning, I had him driven up to Evesham.

The Jacksons did not motor round this way after all, I hardly expected they would turn up.

The roses are getting nicer every day I think a little rain would now be acceptable.  I will put some corn platters in with this if I can find them.

We are getting on all right in household matters for Alice is very capable and assists Ethel a good deal.  They want Arthur to meet them on Wednesday and have luncheon at the station at Oxford, I must tell him when I write and probably he may be at liberty if his exam does not begin till the following day.

I am glad you have seen a little of Fanny, has Anna anyone coming to stay with her next week? Please give her my love and with much to yourself dear

I remain
Your affectionate Husband

Julius Sladden

The newspaper cutting is admirable it must go out to Maidie I think.

Letter Images
Type of Correspondence
Envelope containing 2 sheets of notepaper
Location of Document
Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service
Record Office Reference