Skip to main content

December 24th 1914 - Letter from Fred Mourilyan to his sister, Eugénie Sladden

24th December 1914
Correspondence From
Fred Mourilyan, 8 The Fosseway, Clifton, Bristol
Correspondence To
Eugénie Sladden
Relationship to Letter Addressee
Text of Letter

8 The Fosseway

24th December 1914

My dear Eugénie

Many thanks for your letter of the 20th inst. I am glad to be able to tell you that Florence has now got rid of her cough and is feeling stronger. We are comfortable here and she can keep warm; the weather is rather cold, but dry and she can go out in the middle of the day.

We are only sending a few cards this Christmas to those who expect to hear something of us; we trust you will all have a happy Christmas and that the New Year may bring a happier state of things for us all.

Courtney left last Saturday again for the front, after spending some time with the home Battalion fortifying the North East coast – Ethel writes that he can scarcely use his left hand yet, but the Medical Board passed him as fit for service. His own battalion from India, the 1st Royal Scots had just come home and he left with them. Ethel is at Exmouth, 5 Alexandra Terrace; his parents live there and she is not far from Mary Simpson.

Archie goes to Boulogne on the 5th January to replace one of the clergy there for 10 days. Arthur may have been moved to one of the hospitals there by that time; if so they could meet. I suppose both Cyril and George may be sent out somewhere before long.

It was most unfortunate that the ships that bombarded the east coast towns managed to get back but they will no doubt do it once too often soon. I should think there could be a good advance as soon as the allies get their reserves up, but the Germans will look to Belgium as long as they can and will take a great deal of turning out. Of course my position is serious for I may lose all I have in Belgium and the company may lose so much that it may not be possible to pay pensions; however we can only wait and see.

Love to you all.

Your affectionate brother

Letter Images
Type of Correspondence
1 double sheet of notepaper
Location of Document
Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service
Record Office Reference