Skip to main content

May 11th 1903 - Letter from Julius Sladden to his wife, Eugénie Sladden

11th May 1903
Correspondence From
Julius Sladden, Seward House, Badsey
Correspondence To
Eugénie Sladden, c/o Mrs Coleman, Rosway, Deal
Relationship to Letter Addressee
Text of Letter


May 11/03

My dearest Wife,

I have just returned from London (10.40P.M.) and found your letter awaiting me and now I will write before going to bed as I may not have much time to spare in the morning.

Dr Wright is evidently rather nervous about having George just yet and moreover says he would hardly have time to get into the work in a fortnight, in fact his pupils will be mostly engaged in doing test papers during the time, he proposes that he should send papers for George to do, at home or elsewhere, in fact to treat him as a correspondence pupil from Monday next and, on the understanding that George is to begin regular work with him on June 8th, he will make no charge for this initial work, to this plan I have agreed.

Now he can either come down here next Saturday (in that case bringing Juliet) or he can go to Richmond and have his papers sent there, or he can stay a little longer in Kent doing them there, he would have to work about 5 hours a day except Wednesday about half time and perhaps not at all on Saturday, I must leave to you to decide what course to adopt only let me know (by letter or wire) not later than Thursday afternoon so that I can instruct Dr Wright where to post the papers to (he does not attend his chambers on Saturday) of course George could if desirable do the first week’s work in Kent and the second at Richmond but in any case he must go to Richmond on May 30th at latest to be in readiness for his examination, it is impossible for me to go into all the pro’s and cons in a letter as I do not know how far it may be convenient for him to stay where he is or what the facilities would be for his doing his work properly, so you must arrange between you what is to be done. 

If there is no other way of getting Juliet home it would be better for you to bring her yourself and go then or at some later date to Norwich from here, the cost would be much less than your return from London to Norwich and Ethel’s to London & back.

I had an hour and half with Jack and we dined together, he seemed well and hopes to get down here for Whitsuntide, he will be changing his lodgings in June when the Wrights move, I suggested Sydenham Hill as a nice locality, I wonder if Aunt George could get Mrs W G Grace to recommend any suitable place, I am not sure that it would not be a good plan for you to put in a day or two at Richmond and look him out a suitable place.

I must close now as it is late and I am tired

Your loving Husband

Julius Sladden

Letter Images
Type of Correspondence
Envelope containing 2 sheets of notepaper
Location of Document
Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service
Record Office Reference