Skip to main content

October 18th 1898 - Letter from Julius Sladden to his daughter, Kathleen Sladden

18th October 1898
Correspondence From
Julius Sladden, Seward House, Badsey
Correspondence To
Kathleen Sladden
Relationship to Letter Addressee
Text of Letter


Oct 18/98

My Dear Kathleen,

I have just been writing to Arthur and now I will pen a letter to you as I may be engaged for the next evening or two.

I got back here last Friday evening after a pleasant little trip during which I was favoured with fine weather, since my return it has been rainy and to-day very wet indeed.

I found Granny very well and fairly cheerful for her, other friends were well, but I thought Aunt Susan rather aged since a year ago, I stayed one night at Sandwich and uncle Frank lent me his bike to go over to Ash, one day uncle John & I took the train to Sandling Junction then walked through Saltwood to Hythe and, disdaining to take the train, continued the walk right back to Folkestone, only taking advantage of the Sandgate lift, we must have gone quite 8 miles.

Jack will go to London next Monday in readiness for the next day, I expect the exam will last four days.

Tell Ethel it was capital her being top in French and so high in German too.  I want you to read the enclosed address by Dean Farrer I think it very nice, no doubt Ethel will like the cutting about the funeral of the Queen of Denmark.

Dip is going to Clifton (not Malvern) with his cadet corps on Saturday, it will be a nice trip for them if the weather is fine.  Miss Pollard could not come and stay here just now.  Mary may come in January and Anna later in the year, the latter is still at Folkestone.

They have begun the new bridge in Badsey Lane it is a little nearer the Evesham side and the course of the brook is to be straightened.

I saw Charlie & Frank Butler in passing through London, auntie was going to St Leonards but would be back for the exeat, perhaps you have heard from her.

With love from us all to you both

I remain
your affectionate Father

Julius Sladden

Letter Images
Type of Correspondence
1 double sheet of notepaper
Location of Document
Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service
Record Office Reference