Skip to main content

October 23rd 1904 - Letter from Julius Sladden to his wife, Eugénie Sladden

23rd October 1904
Correspondence From
Julius Sladden, Ashbourne, 26 Radnor Park Road, Folkestone
Correspondence To
Eugénie Sladden, Seward House, Badsey
Relationship to Letter Addressee
Text of Letter

26 Radnor Park Road

Oct 23/04

My dearest Wife,

You will be expecting a letter to-morrow so I will write before the evening gets more advanced, I shall want to go out and get a little fresh air later on!

You no doubt received my post card yesterday.

Saturday morning opened wet however I went up to the shelter and later on it cleared up so I had a good walk along the sea front, in the afternoon I had a walk with Charlotte and we went on the new part of the pier and saw the boat off, late in the evening I was obliged to take another turn by myself for I cannot stand too much of the house.

To-morrow morning Mary Worsfold and Charlotte Hayward are coming over however I shall not see very much of them as I had previously written to say I would go by mid-day train and dine and sleep at Rosway, going to Ash next day.  

John went out in his bath chair for an hour in the afternoon yesterday, but it is as much as he can do, he is very feeble and loses his interest in things and becomes a little irritable at times – for him, I feel very doubtful if he will see the year out.

Henry Hayward was over yesterday to see him, he looks very well.  Miss Potter is here and is a great help to Charlotte, I hope she will be able to stay for a time, either she or Charlotte stay in to look after John, who is really not fit to be left.

This morning C. took me to the parish Church notwithstanding I had no wedding garment in the shape of a top hat! Coming out of church I was introduced to the Cluters and we walked along the sea front with them, Mr C. wore a “bowler” so I felt quite in the fashion, Mrs Cluter sent her remembrances to you and to the sons and daughters.

I have written to Aunt Lizzie to suggest going there on Thursday in time for dinner and staying the night, in any case I propose to get to London on Friday when I must arrange a meeting with Jack, I do not know if I can manage to see George as well, I hope he is making good progress.

I hope things are going on all right in my absence.

With much love to yourself, Ethel & Juliet.

I am ever
Your affectionate Husband

Julius Sladden

Letter Images
Type of Correspondence
Envelope containing 2 sheets of notepaper
Location of Document
Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service
Record Office Reference