Skip to main content

November 27th 1915 - Letter from Kathleen Sladden to her mother, Eugénie Sladden

27th November 1915
Correspondence From
Kathleen Sladden, 12 Charleville Circus, Sydenham
Correspondence To
Eugénie Sladden, Seward House, Badsey
Relationship to Letter Addressee
Text of Letter

12 Charleville Circus
Sydenham SE

Nov 27 1915

My dear Mother

You will get George’s letter tomorrow morning I hope and I will write at once this evening as you will want to hear my impressions of his little girl. He has told you I know that she is only 18 but though she is so young I should think she is a sensible little person. She is not very big, hardly as tall as I am, certainly not so large and is rather pretty, with a natural, gentle manner which is quite winning. George and she lunched together and I met them by arrangement before he had to go off, to say goodbye and carry her off for a little walk and chat and tea together. One can see that they are very much in love with each other and it was hard to have to part so soon, but she was very plucky over it. I suppose as in so many other cases we could say do not really know very much of each other, still they appear to have met a good many times altogether and written more so I hope they are not taking more than the normal amount of risk. Her mother seems pleased about it; taking George on the Lintotts’ recommendation I think! By the by, I doubt if George was sensible enough last night to give you her address, 8 Whitchurch Lane, Edgware; perhaps he told you that her father is dead and her mother has married again, not a very successful affair; her name is now Mrs Wilkinson. I suppose he did succeed in giving you correctly her own name, Rosie Lintott (Rosina in full). He had so little time that he did not write to Father as well as you, knowing you would share the letter.

I must just write him a line now to catch this evening’s post and send on your and May’s letters which arrived just too late. They have a tiresome way now of coming by the second post instead of the first. I am meeting Ethel on Tuesday and will give her a few more details.

Much love from

Letter Images
Type of Correspondence
Envelope containing 2 sheets of notepaper
Location of Document
Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service
Record Office Reference