Skip to main content

December 7th 1901 - Letter from Julius Sladden to his wife, Eugénie Sladden

7th December 1901
Correspondence From
Julius Sladden, Seward House, Badsey
Correspondence To
Eugénie Sladden, at Marshgate House, Richmond, Surrey
Relationship to Letter Addressee
Text of Letter


Dec 7/01

My dearest Wife,

I was glad to have news of you this morning and to find that you caught that earlier train at Reading.

We have Arthur back again this evening but James will stay in Cambridge till Monday and travel straight through to Brecon, Arthur will leave here at 1.30 so as to get back in time for a rehearsal of the play in the evening, he seems to have enjoyed his outing and to have made several acquaintances at Cambridge, they also had a nice time for the few hours they spent in Oxford, I think he has done reasonably well in the exams and he says the experience will be valuable for another year, he looked Archie up and lunched with him on Thursday also went with him the day before to a football match, that being a spare afternoon.

I heard from Charlotte this afternoon she says Mother is better physically but not mentally, I shall be glad to hear what you think of her.  I hope your head is all right again and that you will have a fine day for your visit to Egham, give my love to Kathleen.  You will remember to write to Arthur and George this week, of course I shall forward the Bancroft letters when received.  You will I suppose see Jack before this reaches you.

Little Juliet is quite well and happy although she misses you, she is of course fast asleep in bed now and did not even manage to keep awake till Arthur arrived.

I am glad you can give so good an account of Polly she will have been pleased to have you and Fanny together for a few hours.  We had not seen any account of the sad end of Dolly Ellis, it must be a terrible blow to her family.  The girls are all right and join with me and Arthur in much love to you and also to the little circle at Marshgate House.

Your affectionate Husband

Julius Sladden

I understand we are really to have a policeman here.


Letter Images
Type of Correspondence
Envelope containing 2 sheets of notepaper
Location of Document
Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service
Record Office Reference